Member Spotlight: Dustin Stoker

Name: Dustin Stoker

Nickname: Big D

Where Are you From? : Auburn but I live in Sumner

When Did you Start Crossfit?: 2013

Most frequented class time: 5 pm

Occupation and/or Hobbies : I work for the Northwest Seaport Alliance as COO. I have worked in the shipping industry for almost 19 years. Working in the shipping industry has been great. It has allowed Callie (my wife) and I to live in 5 different countries and visit over 25.

If you had to write an "About Me" what would it say?: I was born in Oklahoma. In fact, most of my family is from Oklahoma and Texas. My parents moved here with my Grandparents when I was 6 months old and settled in Auburn. Callie and I went to High School together but didn't meet until my Freshmen year in college. Both of us graduated from the University of Washington. 

In 2005 we moved to Huntington Beach where we lived for almost 4 years. We then had the opportunity to move overseas. We have lived in Holland, Oman, United Arab Emirates, and Canada. We then moved back home to Sumner in 2013. Our three boys, ages 9, 6 and 5 were all born in foreign countries (Holland, UAE and Canada). 

We plan on staying in Sumner and raising our children. We moved into a house and are starting a little hobby farm. Our three boys love living a rural lifestyle!

Do you have any pets? : We have a 7 month old Cane Corso named Bella. We also have 17 chickens. We plan on adding some goats, cows, and maybe some pigs...and who knows after that!

Screen Shot 2017-11-12 at 5.27.21 PM.png

Favorite Movements or Workouts: My two favorite moves are deadlifts and rowing. Mainly because I am pretty good at them.

Least Favorite Movements or Workouts : Thrusters, thrusters and thrusters. Mainly because I suck at them.

2 Goals you're working on: I love working on weaknesses in the gym. I have been trying to improve my HSPUs and MUs. I worked on double unders for well over a year and have finally turned a corner in the last 6 months. I am also working on my mobility. 

On a personal note I try to work on life balance. I focus on priorities of faith, family, health and career.

Favorite Cheat Meal: Pizza or a burger and beer

Biggest Crossfit / Fitness Achievement so far : Everyday is an achievement in CF.

Something people at the gym probably don't know about you: I weighed 285 lbs when I was about 25. Weight issues run in my family. I lost 85 lbs over 7 months (basically not eating). I have worked for the past decade to build back strength and fitness after my weight loss. It has been a cool journey and one in which I am always trying to learn new things about fitness and nutrition. CrossFit has helped me get in the best shape I have been in since High School.

When not working or at the gym, you can be found doing...: Hanging with my family...maybe doing work on my tractor around Stoker Ranch.

What is one thing still left on your bucket list?: I don't have a bucket list per se. Callie and I want to raise our boys into good God fearing young men and continue to say yes to adventures. Adventures can be a small as going camping to jumping on a plane and visiting a new country.

If you could have any one superpower, which would you choose?: Eat anything I want and have a six pack.

Dustin is an amazing father and husband. He is passionate about Crossfit and is always in a better mood after a good workout (thanks Barry!)
— Callie Stoker
Dustin has a great attitude, especially when it comes to doing the things he isn’t great at. Always gives a full effort every time he is at the gym.
— Coach Barry

NOMINATE OUR NEXT MEMBER SPOTLIGHT! 

Have you seen someone going great things lately in the gym and you think they should be spotlighted? Or is there anyone you don't know very well but want to learn more about the? Nominate them here and we will take care of the rest!